But it sure beats a Post-it, doesn’t it?

Text transcripts:

Sporto: I’m not sure what’s going on but I just need to know if you still want me to come tonight or not.

Me: I’m not planning on being out late and I’m not drinking.

Sporto: I know that.  You didn’t answer my question, do you want to see me or not?

There were a million things I could have said here..but I went with my gut and here’s what came out:

Me: Honestly, I’ve thought a lot about our conversation on Saturday and I really think we’re just on two different paths.  I don’t think we should see each other anymore.

Sporto: Wow.

Sporto: You just did that in a text.

2 thoughts on “But it sure beats a Post-it, doesn’t it?

  1. I totally get this. I feel like people talk about the dating world like some kind of free-for-all, no rules, shit storm where people have no obligations to anyone except themselves. But in reality, people get attached super fast and expect to be given priority in your life after you’ve met them a total of two times. I’m seriously in to text message break-ups these days. And yes, I describe it as a break up because there always seems to be an expectation that you’re going to keep seeing each other unless you explicitly state otherwise. Am I alone here?

Leave a Reply

