Game Over

I had to break things off with Game Boy.  I just wasn’t feeling it.  And not for lack of trying either.

So faced with, how do I do this?  I contacted my trusted pack of dating advisors and armed with my script (yep, I had to write it all out–remember me and my verbal diarrhea), I called him.

We started with small talk:

Game Boy: Hi.. how was your day? 

Me: Good, yours?

Game Boy:  Good.  What are you doing? 

Me: Just finishing up some Christmas gifts.. so look, I called cause I wanted to talk to you about something.  I think you’re a really good guy.  I just don’t think this is it for me.

SILENCE.

I wasn’t prepared for silence.. I was only prepared if he had a “Why?” or wanted to argue with me. So since my paper was blank, I stayed quiet.  

Game Boy: Okay?  soft…quietly…slowly.

Me: Ok. quick..relieved…

Game Boy:  I wish you didn’t feel that way. I think you’re really great…

Me: rushing in… I think you’re great too.. I’m just not feeling it. 

Game Boy: Well, have a great holiday then. Have a safe trip. Hopefully we’ll see each other again.  

Me: You too.  Merry Christmas.

Then we hung up.

I did a dance.  I did it! I was honest. Brief. Didn’t talk myself into circles and it felt like a mature meeting of the minds there.  I wasn’t feeling it and I let him down easily.  Right? 

Fast forward to 11:45 that night… 

Text message from a random number(random because I had already deleted his number) 

333-333-3333: hey stella, are you available to chat tomorrow?  Maybe I’m naive but I was just really taken back by what happened earlier and I’d like to chat casually.

I thought about responding. 

That conversation could go one of two ways: 1) He could try to win me back.  2) He could make me feel bad.  Since I didn’t want either of those outcomes, I didn’t call him/text him back.  

Sometimes relationships aren’t going to work out.  Sometimes one person is going to want more than the other person.  Sometimes that person may have a photo of you on their phone as their wall paper and invite you to spend a holiday weekend with them at their uncle’s after 5 dates.  Someone has to end it. 

This time it was me.  Better than a text message. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

